Skip to main content
Delphix

Masking Engine Backup and Restore (KBA1823)

 

KBA

KBA#1823

At a Glance

Official Backup: The preferred Backup option is to back up at the Hypervisor. See below for details.
Limited Backup: To back up Settings and Environments - use the Settings and Environment (in UI or API)
Other Options: There are also Community solutions incorporated in Masking Toolkits. 

Applicable Delphix Versions

Click here to view the versions of the Delphix engine to which this article applies
Major Release All Sub Releases
6.0 6.0.0.0, 6.0.1.0, 6.0.1.1, 6.0.2.0, 6.0.2.1, 6.0.3.0, 6.0.3.1, 6.0.4.0, 6.0.4.1, 6.0.4.2, 6.0.5.0, 6.0.6.0, 6.0.6.1, 6.0.7.0, 6.0.8.0, 6.0.8.1, 6.0.9.0, 6.0.10.0

5.3

5.3.0.0, 5.3.0.1, 5.3.0.2, 5.3.0.3, 5.3.1.0, 5.3.1.1, 5.3.1.2, 5.3.2.0, 5.3.3.0, 5.3.3.1, 5.3.4.0, 5.3.5.0, 5.3.6.0, 5.3.7.0, 5.3.7.1, 5.3.8.0, 5.3.8.1, 5.3.9.0

5.2

5.2.2.0, 5.2.2.1, 5.2.3.0, 5.2.4.0, 5.2.5.0, 5.2.5.1, 5.2.6.0, 5.2.6.1

5.1

5.1.0.0, 5.1.1.0, 5.1.2.0, 5.1.3.0, 5.1.4.0, 5.1.5.0, 5.1.5.1, 5.1.6.0, 5.1.7.0, 5.1.8.0, 5.1.8.1, 5.1.9.0, 5.1.10.0

5.0

5.0.1.0, 5.0.1.1, 5.0.2.0, 5.0.2.1, 5.0.2.2, 5.0.2.3, 5.0.3.0, 5.0.3.1, 5.0.4.0, 5.0.4.1, 5.0.5.0, 5.0.5.1, 5.0.5.2, 5.0.5.3, 5.0.5.4

Official Backup Solution

The official process for Engine Backup and Restore is detailed here:

There are times where it may be required to take a quick backup of the current objects and their state. This article provides methods available in the UI to take a limited 'backup' of Environments and Rule Sets on the Masking Engine. 

Additional Backup Options

A situation where it may be good to take a limited 'backup' is when deleting a Connector or an Environment on large environments. When changes are made on the masking engine, these modifications are irreversible and some modifications may have an impact on sub-objects (such as Connectors and Environments).

Options here are: 

  • Using the UI or API to Export Objects (using Sync).
    • UI: Environment Page.
    • API: Sync Endpoint.
  • Use one of the Masking Toolkits (see link at the end of this document).

Backup Notes

Consider the following times when a backup should/could be taken. 

  • Deleting and modifying Objects on the Masking Engine (such as User, Environment, Rule Set, et cetera).
  • Upgrade of an Engine.
  • Complete VM failure - as part of Disaster Recovery. 

Deleted Objects

Backup is recommended when deleting objects. Below is a list of the lower-level objects deleted when an object is deleted. 

What backup is needed when an object is deleted

This is a list of Masking Engine Objects and the impact of deleting them. The Backup method listed is the easiest backup method (sometimes that could be as simple as taking a screenshot).

Object selected for deletion Objects deleted Impact Backup method
Job * Job only Deleting a job will only remove the job. * Take a screenshot
Rule Set * Rule Set
* Jobs
A popup will open. Clicking OK will delete the Rule Set and all Jobs under it.  * Export Environment
Connector * Connector
* Rule Sets
* Jobs
A popup will open. Clicking OK will delete the Connector and all objects under it.  * Export Environment
Environment * Environment
* Connectors
* Rule Sets
* Jobs
A popup will open. Clicking OK will delete the Environment and all objects under it.  * Export Environment
User  * User
* Environment
* Connectors
* Rule Sets
* Jobs
A popup will open. To delete the User has to be non-Admin.

Before version 6.0: Clicking OK will delete the Connector and all objects under it. 

Version 6.0 and after. Only the User will be deleted. 
* Full Backup
* Export all Environments

Modified Objects

Recommendations 

  1. Create a copy prior to performing the modification.

  2. Use a regular backup cadence (as described above).
Warning

Warning:

When deleting objects, only delete objects that you are sure can be deleted.  Always have a backup available in case a restore is needed.

Recommendation: Create a copy and then modify

This is a quick and easy way to make modifications on the engine.

  1. Copy the object to be modified.
  2. Edit the original.
Note

Note:

Since objects are used and referenced by other objects on the engine. Always edit the original object - or changes may not have the effect intended.

Related Articles

Documentation Links: